The Warren County Ohio

Warren County is a county in the U.S. state of Ohio. As of the 2010 census, the population was 212,693.  Its county seat is Lebanon. The county was created on May 1, 1803 from Hamilton County; it is named for Dr. Joseph Warren, a hero of the Revolution who sent out Paul Revere and the neglected William Dawes on their popular rides and who passed away at the Battle of Bunker Hill. 

Warren County is part of the Cincinnati, OH-KY-IN Metropolitan Statistical Area

Warren County Data

Coordinates: 39°26′N 84°10′W
Country  United States
State  Ohio
Founded May 1, 1803
Named for Dr. Joseph Warren
Seat Lebanon
Largest city Mason


 • Total 407 sq mi (1,050 km2)
 • Land 401 sq mi (1,040 km2)
 • Water 6.0 sq mi (16 km2)  1.5%%



 • Estimate

 • Density 571/sq mi (220/km2)
Time zone UTC−5 (Eastern)
 • Summer (DST) UTC−4 (EDT)
Congressional district 1st


Warren County was created by the very first Ohio General Assembly in the Act of March 24, 1803, which also created Butler and Montgomery Counties. The act defined Warren County as “all that part of the county of Hamilton consisted of within the following bounds, viz.: Beginning at the northeast corner of the county of Clermont, running thence west with the line of stated county to the Little Miami; thence up the same with the meanders thereof to the north boundary of the very first tier of areas in the second entire variety of towns in the Miami Purchase; thence west to the northeast corner of Section No. 7 in the 3rd area of the aforementioned variety; thence north to the Great Miami; thence up the same to the middle of the fifth variety of towns; thence east to the County line; thence with very same south to the place of start.” Initially this consisted of land now in Clinton County as far east as Wilmington.

Clinton County’s boundaries were a number of times changed in an effort to comply with that clause of the constitution. That would have left Warren under four hundred square miles (1,036 km ²), so a part of Butler County (the part of Franklin Township where Carlisle is now located) was attached to Warren in payment.


Warren County has actually long been among the most Republican counties in Ohio, and has been since the party was established in the 1850s. Since the first governmental election after its starting, 1856, Warren County has actually supported the Republican prospect for president all but when, the exception being 1964 when Warren County chose Democrat Lyndon B. Johnson over Barry M. Goldwater. In 2008, Warren County cast the biggest net vote for John McCain of any Ohio county. Before the Republican Party was formed, Warren County supported the Whigs.

The Republican trend is no less noticable at the state level. Since 1869, Warren County has generally supported the Republican candidate for Governor of Ohio, the exceptions remaining in 1924 when it supported Vic Donahey, 1932 (George White), 1952 (Frank Lausche), and 1958 (Michael V. DiSalle). Nevertheless, besides DiSalle, each of these 4 Democrats, who were all victorious statewide, were conservative Democrats.

With the enormous growth of Warren County’s population in the 1990s, the county promptly became a Republican fortress, this being indicated by the fact that Republicans’ typically ran unopposed. In November 1999, the last elected Democrat to hold workplace in Warren County, a member of the Educational Service Center (county school board), lost her seat to a Republican. Warren County government employment.

Institution of higher learnings

Warren County has no native colleges or universities, but was the original site chosen for Miami University which rather located in Oxford, Ohio in 1809. National Normal University, an instructors college, was in Lebanon from 1855 up until 1917 when it closed. A number of colleges provide classes in Warren County at numerous locations, consisting of Sinclair Community College of Dayton, the University of Cincinnati, and Wilmington College. Sinclair opened a branch in the Mason area in 2007. The University of Cincinnati owns 398 acres (1.61 km2) of land  at the intersections of I-71 and Wilmington road, but no prepare for development on the site have actually been announced.


The Journal-News distributes in Franklin, Springboro, Lebanon, and Turtlecreek Township. The Dayton Daily News, distributes in the northern part of the county. The Cincinnati Enquirer circulates through the majority of the county while the Cincinnati Post deserted all distribution in the county in 2004.

Among its weekly documents are The Western Star, the earliest weekly in the state and the earliest paper west of the Appalachians released under its original name. It was shut down in 2012. It, like the Pulse-Journal in Mason and the Star-Press in Springboro, are owned by the parent of the Middletown Journal and the Dayton Daily News, Cox Media Group. Other weeklies include the Franklin Chronicle.

For a time in the mid-1990s, Lebanon was the home of a commercial radio station, WMMA-FM, 97.3, but its owners sold out and the brand-new owners moved the station to Hamilton County. In 2010, the only radio station in the county at the time, WLMH-FM, a student-run station at Little Miami High School in Hamilton Township went off the air. In 2012, the FCC removed it from their database and cancelled their license as a result of it being silent for over a year.

Warren County is assigned to the Cincinnati television market, however Dayton tv stations treat it as part of their market as well. Warren County child support.

Warren County, OH Zip Code

45005 | 45034 | 45036 | 45039 | 45040 | 45044 | 45050 | 45054 | 45065 | 45066 | 45068 | 45107 | 45113 | 45122 | 45140 | 45152 | 45162 | 45241 | 45249 | 45327 | 45342 | 45458

Call Now